Menu

February 24, 2020
×
Contact
Your Neighbors. Your News.

My Account

To make updates to your Zip06 account or requets changes to your newspaper delivery, please choose an option below.

Welcome to Zip06.com!

If you have an account, please login! If you don't have an account, you can create one.

Login

Sign-Up!

A Zip06 account will allow you to post to the online calendar, contribute to News From You, and interact with the Zip06 community. It's free to sign-up!

Click here to get started!

Register for Zip06

We're happy you've decided to join the Zip06 community. Please fill out this short registration form to begin sharing content with your neighbors.

You must enter your first name.
You must enter your last name.
You must enter a username
You must enter a valid email address
Show password
You must enter a valid zip code

Submit to Zip06

Forget Your Password?

We can help! Enter the email address registered to your account below to have your password emailed to you.

Submit an Announcement

Life & Style

Columns

Departments

Roly Poly Author Event With Jane Dyer At Breakwater Books

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

An event with Jane Dyer, the author and illustrator with Mem Fox of Roly Poly, will be offered Saturday, Feb. 29 from 11 a.m. to noon at Breakwater Books, 81 Whitfield Street, Guilford.

Read More

Bar manager Norman MacDonald. Photo by Susan Lambert/The Courier

Have You Tried Twelve Percent Yet?

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

Finally jumping on the taproom scene, the Twelve Percent Beer Project in North Haven now has a new taproom. Offering ...

Read More

Richard Taylor will give a presentation on Connecticut’s bobcats on Thursday, March 20 in Clinton. Photo by Paul J. Fusco

Bobcats of Connecticut Featured at Henry Carter Hull Library

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

Richard L. Taylor, Jr., master wildlife conservationist, will present a program at Henry Carter Hull Library on Connecticut’s bobcats on Thursday, March 20 at 6 p.m. at the Henry Carter Hull Library, 10 Killingworth Turnpike, Clinton

Read More

Jane Monheit Photo courtesy of McDowell Communications

Jazz Vocalist Jane Monheit Schedules Appearance at The Kate

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

Jazz vocalist Jane Monheit will bring her act to The Kate on Thursday, Feb. 20 at 7:30 p.m.Monheit puts her...

Read More

Phil Klein’s path to becoming a dog listener started when his family rescued a dog named Abby from Labs4Rescue. Photo courtesy of Essex Library

How to Understand Your Best Friend, with Help from Dog Listener Phil Klein

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

Phil Klein will present a kind methodology for gaining your dog’s cooperation based on its instincts on Saturday, Feb. 22 at 1:30 p.m. at the Essex Library, 33 West Avenue, Essex.

Read More

A Little Compassion is an area non-profit that operates The Nest Coffee House in downtown Deep River. It is offering an award to support young adults with autism, and intellectual and developmental disabilities. Photo courtesy of The Nest Coffee House

Annual Award to Support Young Adults with Autism, Intellectual/Developmental Disabilities

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

An annual award for young adults who have faced challenges while working toward a personal goal is being offered by A Little Compassion, Inc., an area non-profit that works to change the lives of individuals with autism, intellectual, and developmental disabilities.

Read More

Wendy Perrotti Photo courtesy of Madison Happiness Club

‘Life Reimagined’ with the Madison Happiness Club

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

The Madison Happiness Club will present ‘Life Reimagined’ with Dana Hilmer and Wendy Perrotti on...

Read More

The shoreline community is invited to take part in the Congregation Beth Shalom Rodfe Zedek Shabbat Across America on Friday, Feb. 28. Photo courtesy of Congregation Beth Shalom Rodfe Zedek

Celebrating Shabbat Across America

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

Congregation Beth Shalom Rodfe Zedek (CBSRZ), 55 East Kings Highway, Chester announces the celebration of the annual ...

Read More

Car Care 101 is one of the classes being offered as part of an Essential Skills for Teen series. Photo courtesy of Old Saybrook Youth & Family Services

Essential Life Skills for Teens Taught in Old Saybrook

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

A series of classes, Essential Skills for Teens, is being offered in March in Old Saybrook. Some of the classes are...

Read More

Meg Smith and Simone Gell, both of Guilford, were among 60 volunteers who pitched in to help make the 2019 Guilford Performing Arts Festival a success. Smith and Gell took the lead on producing the Dinner on the Guilford Green benefit event for the ‘19 fest. Volunteers for the festival, which will next take place in 2021, are now being sought. Photo courtesy of the Guilford Performing Arts Festival

Volunteers Sought for Next Guilford Performing Arts Festival

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

The Guilford Performing Arts Festival, which will be offered once again in 2021, is seeking volunteers to help put...

Read More

Julie Fitzpatrick in a performance of 77 U-Turn at the Guilford Performing Arts Festival. Photo courtesy of Julie Fitzpatrick

77 U-Turn, a Play About Mental Illness and Hope, Offered Again

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

One-Woman Play Explores ‘What Happens When We Turn Around and Look Back Before Moving Forward.’

Read More

Pride and Prejudice and Jane Eyre: If You Go

Published Feb. 19, 2020 07:00 a.m.

Pride and Prejudice by Kate Hamill, based on the novel by Austen will run through Sunday, March 8 at West Hartford’s Playhouse on Park.

Read More

Elizabeth Williamson, the director of Jane Eyre, who also adapted the novel, says she was attracted to Jane Eyre because “it’s the first novel that is written as an autobiography from a female point of view. So it’ the first time a novelist has a woman speaking directly to the audience and saying, ‘This is what I want out of life, and I’m gonna go get it.’”

Photo courtesy of Hartford Stage

The Riz Quiz: ‘Jane Eyre’ or ‘Pride and Prejudice’?

Published Feb. 19, 2020 07:00 a.m.

The classics are alive and well on stage in Connecticut this season.

Read More

Nick LaMedica and Tasha Lawrence in Lifespan of a Fact at TheaterWorks in Hartford Photo by Lanny Nagler

Lifespan of a Fact at TheaterWorks Explores When Is a Fact Accurate?

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

The central question in Lifespan of a Fact, which is getting a magnificent production at TheaterWorks in Hartford through Sunday, March 8, is: Do verifiable facts tell the real story?

Read More

The American Story by David Rubenstein

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

This treasure for history lovers is a collection of 16 conversations with master historians and Pulitzer Prize-winning authors about our founding fathers and others who shaped our American history.

Read More

Upright Women Wanted by Sarah Gailey

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

In this novel, aimed at young teens, set in dystopian American West, runaway teen Esther hides in the wagon of The Librarians of the Southwest Territory to escape certain persecution at the hands of her father.

Read More

Yes No Maybe So by Becky Albertalli and Aisha Saeed

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

Change is messy, scary, and unpredictable. It’s also inevitable, and, above all, worth it.

Read More

Long Bright River by Liz Moore

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

An opioid addiction crumbles the bond between two sisters, but when Mickey’s sister Kacey goes missing and women start showing up dead in Kacey’s neighborhood, Mickey has to dig deep into their past to access the courage she needs to find her sister.

Read More

The Authenticity Project by Clare Pooley

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

Fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Jojo Moyes, and Jenny Colgan will find much to love in this clever British-based book.

Read More

Things in Jars by Jess Kidd

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

Jess Kidd’s stories are mesmerizing and miraculous with bizarre and captivating characters.

Read More

Oligarchy by Scarlett Thomas

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

As dark as it is funny, this novel captures the angst of teenage girlhood in today’s particularly social media-obsessed world.

Read More

We Were The Lucky Ones by Georgia Hunter

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

This historical novel, based on a true story of a Polish Jewish family under Nazi occupation, is a difficult read, due to the nature of the story, but it is a well-written story, well worth reading.

Read More

Yellow Earth by John Sayles

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

This highly absorbing novel, about the boom-and-bust chaos caused by the prospects of fracking oil from the shale underneath the fictitious town of Yellow Earth, is told though many points of view with a captivating cast of characters.

Read More

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

I recently asked Sharon, one of my local booksellers, for a great read with an easy pace that wouldn’t keep me up at night.

Read More

Nibbles: Elizabeth’s Café

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

I have a friend Lisa who lives in Westchester County, New York, works in New York City, and comes to Madison most...

Read More

A Good Ending to a Good Week When it Came to Food

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

I arrived home one day recently, incredibly hungry.

Read More

Tiresias, a northern saw-whet owl, is a tiny bird with bold habits and a shrill, penetrating call. Owls are among the many different kinds of birds and raptors helped by A Place Called Hope. Photo courtesy of A Place Called Hope

A Place Called Hope Featured at Presentation in Lyme

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

A Place Called Hope, a rehabilitation and education center for birds of prey based on Pond Meadow Road in...

Read More

Legacy Artistic Director Keely Baisden Knudsen with Pilobolus Director of Programming Renee Jaworski and Pilobolus Artistic Director Matt Kent. Photo courtesy of Legacy Theatre

Wheel Life Theatre Troupe Seeking Participants

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

Legacy Theatre’s Keely Baisden Knudsen is in rehearsals of The Peter Pan Project with the Wheel Life Theatre...

Read More

The Severed Finger: A Fireside Author Talk with Arno B. Zimmer

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

Local author Arno B. Zimmer will discuss his fifth book, The Severed Finger, a mystery novel set right off the coast ...

Read More

Song of Solomon, Beloved by Toni Morrison at Guilford Free Library

Published Feb. 20, 2020 12:01 a.m.

Yale Dean Mark Schenker will discuss two works by acclaimed novelist Toni Morrison in March and April at Guilford...

Read More