Wednesday, October 27, 2021

Local News

Old Saybrook Slates Set for November Elections

The November municipal elections have taken shape in Old Saybrook. Following a July 26 special meeting, the Old Saybrook Democratic Town Committee (DTC) has announced its slate for the upcoming elections led by Board of Selectman candidate Matthew J Pugliese. The Republican Town Committee (RTC) slate is led by the nomination of Carl Fortuna for First Selectman and Scott Giegerich for the Board of Selectmen.

With the nominations in, it looks like there won’t be much in the way of new leadership at the town’s top board. The Democrats elected not to run a candidate for first selectman and the RTC nominees are both incumbents.

While there may be no drama at the top of the ballot, there will be more hotly contested races for the other open seats.

Every July of a municipal election, each town committee holds a caucus where the party determines which members will be officially endorsed for candidacy for the elected seats.

Un-endorsed candidates seeking to force a primary election of an endorsed candidate had until 4 p.m. on Aug. 11 (after press time) to file a petition.

The Democratic Endorsements

Pugliese is an incumbent on the Board of Selectmen and is running for a second term. The DTC does not have a candidate for first selectman.

For the Police Commission, the DTC nominated Jessica Calle, Jill Notar–Francesco, Renee Root Shippee, and Alfred “Chub” Wilcox. Carol A Manning is nominated for a two-year term to fill a vacancy.

Barry O’Nell is the town treasurer nominee.

Bruce Carlson, Lynn Dallas, Nicole Phaneuf, and John O’Brien are the nominees for the Board of Finance.

For the Board of Education, the DTC tapped Eileen Baker, Karen Brodeur, Patricia O’Brien, and Dorothy O’Nell.

Jeffrey Gibson and Joan Strickland are the nominees for the Board of Assessment Appeals.

The Planning Commission nominees include Michael Bender and Kathleen Sugland.

Laura Parker Gray and Elizabeth Steffen are the nominees for the Zoning Commission while Justin Terribile is nominated for a two-year term to fill a vacancy.

For the Zoning Board of Appeals, Carl Garbe and C. Marston Ladd are the nominees.

The Parks and Recreation nominees are Nancy Shepard Gatta, Rob LeMire, and Jane Wisialowski.

Rounding out the slate is Harbor Management Commission nominee Robert Soden.

The Republican Slate

For the Board of Selectmen, the RTC returned First Selectman Carl Fortuna and Selectman Scott Giegerich.

For the position of town clerk, the RTC nominated Sarah Becker.

For town treasurer, the nominee is Barbara Labriola.

Barry Maynard was nominated to be tax collector.

For the Police Commission, the RTC nominated Susan Quish, Katie Toolan, and Jeff Jordan. Eric Dessalt was nominated to fill a two-year term.

For the Board of Finance, Paul Carver and Brad Thorpe were nominated. Marc Delmonico was nominated to a two-year term.

Tara Nolin Barros, Trevor Nichols, and Steve Beeler were nominated for the Board of Education.

The RTC picked Matt Diamond and Peter Gallagher to be candidates for the Board of Assessment Appeals.

Paula Kay was tapped for the Planning Commission while Nick Provost was nominated for a two-year term on the commission.

For the Zoning Commission, Geraldine Lewis and Robert Friedmann were nominated.

Kevin Dandy, Chuck Gadon, and Brenda Dyson were nominated for the Zoning Board of Appeals.

James Henderson was nominated for the Park and Recreation Commission.

Rounding out the slate was Harbor Management Commission nominee David Cole.

Eric O’Connell covers news for Clinton for Zip06. Email Eric at

Reader Comments