December 18, 2018  |  

Your Neighbors. Your News.

My Account

To make updates to your Zip06 account or requets changes to your newspaper delivery, please choose an option below.

Welcome to!

If you have an account, please login! If you don't have an account, you can create one.



A Zip06 account will allow you to post to the online calendar, contribute to News From You, and interact with the Zip06 community. It's free to sign-up!

Click here to get started!

Register for Zip06

We're happy you've decided to join the Zip06 community. Please fill out this short registration form to begin sharing content with your neighbors.

You must enter your first name.
You must enter your last name.
You must enter a username
You must enter a valid email address
Show password
You must enter a valid zip code

Submit to Zip06

Forget Your Password?

We can help! Enter the email address registered to your account below to have your password emailed to you.

Submit an Announcement

Fortuna Rides to Re-Election in Old Saybrook

Published Nov. 07, 2017 • Last Updated 11:57 a.m., Nov. 08, 2017

Email This Story

Fill out the form below to email this story to a friend


On Nov. 7, the town’s voters cast their ballots in support of the current team to continue leading. For the race of first selectman, Republican incumbent Carl Fortuna, Jr., got 1,911 votes and Democratic challenger Stephen Sheehan, 1,220. For the two open slots of town selectmen, Republican Scott Giegerich won 1,688 votes and Democrat Carol Conklin 1,398 votes. Seated as selectmen, therefore, will be Giegerich and Conklin since they each won more votes than Sheehan.

Five candidates sought to fill the four open full-term seats on the Board of Finance. The four candidates winning the most votes for the full-term BOF openings are Barry O'Nell, Donna Nucci, David LaMay, and Paul Carver. Only one candidate, Republican Carol Rzasa, ran to fill the two-year vacancy; as a result, with 2,088 votes, she will join the Board of Finance in that seat.

In the race for Town Clerk, incumbent Republican Sarah Becker won over Democrat Carl Garbe 1917 to 1167 votes.

Other competitive races include the Zoning Commission, the Police Commission, and the Harbor Management Commission.

The Zoning Commission race has two openings and three candidates. Winning the most votes and therefore, the right to be seated on the Commission were Gerri Lewis with 1,633 votes and Robert Freidmann with 1,755 votes.

For the Zoning Board of Appeals, there are three full-term openings and one two-year vacancy. Democrat Adam Boyd is a candidate for both the two-year vacancy and a four-year term. The three candidates winning the most votes for the full-term seats will win those seats. Chosen for the full-term seats are Kevin Danby with 1,589 votes, Dorothy Alexander with 1,786 votes and Robert McIntyre with 1,807 votes. Adam Boyd will fill the two-year vacancy slot on the ZBA in that uncontested race with 1,820 votes.

For the Police Commission the four candidates winning the most votes are seated. The final tally was 1544 for Frank Glowski, 1497 for Charles Gadon, 1744 for Renee Shipee, 1521 for Joseph Maselli, 1656 for Frank Reed, and 1570 for Frank Keeney. The four highest vote-getters will be seated: Glowski, Keeney,Reid, and Shipee.

In the Saybrook District Probate Judge race. Democrat Jeannine Lewis defeated Republican Anselmo Delia locally and regionally. The local vote was 1,624 to 1,360.

Love Local News?

Get it Delivered Right to Your Inbox!

Sign-Up for Weekly Newsletters!

Reader Comments