Sunday, September 20, 2020


Mindfulness, Experience, and Knowledge

I support First Selectman Lauren Gister and Selectman Charlene Janecek for re-election to the Board of Selectmen so they can continue their dedicated service to the town of Chester. Their in-depth mindfulness, experience, and knowledge of Chester will be crucial in the coming two years.

Not only have Gister and Janecek successfully managed the past four years’ budgets, they improved communications and participation by Chester residents. Under Gister’s leadership, childcare has been provided for parents so they can participate in town meetings, and her office facilitates rides for seniors. More than 800 Chester email addresses receive weekly communications about town issues, news, meetings, and events in addition to the town website and Facebook page. Serving on boards and commissions is more accessible to unaffiliated and minor party voters, and guidelines and information have been developed to help encourage new volunteers.

During their term, many improvements were made to the historic meeting house, including a new heating system, stage floor, and theater curtain. With the help of town commissions, this team improved playground and basketball facilities at North Quarter Park and removed invasive plants threatening swim areas and boating at Cedar Lake.

There’s much work involved in running and managing a municipality’s budget and needs. Gister and Janecek are on call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, not only working in the office, but leading or attending many evening board and commission, business, and regional meetings. Their love, dedication, and care of Chester is reflected all around us, in the upkeep of roads and bridges, emergency repairs due to storms, ensuring the safety of our residents, students, and schools. The list is endless.

I encourage voters to support Lauren Gister, Charlene Janecek, and the entire team of Democratic candidates by voting Row A on Nov. 5 because experience matters!

Lori Ann Clymas

Lori Ann Clymas chairs the Democratic Town Committee.